Computational Modelling Group

Annual PhD Thesis Prize 2014

The Committee of the Institute of Physics Computational Group offers an annual thesis prize for the author of the PhD thesis that, in the opinion of the Committee, contributes most strongly to the advancement of computational physics. Runner-up prizes may also be awarded.

Thanks to the generosity of AMEC the 2013 prize was £500 and was awarded to Dr Joydeep Pal of the University of Manchester for his thesis entitled "Exploiting Non Linear Piezoelectricity in Novel Semiconductor based Electronic Devices”. A summary of his work will appear in a forthcoming issue of the Group newsletter.

Applications for the 2014 prize are encouraged across the entire spectrum of computational physics. Entry is open to all students from an institution in the UK or Ireland, whose PhD examination has taken place since 1st January 2014 and up to the deadline for submissions.

Deadline: 30th April 2015

Submission format

  • A four page (A4) summary from the student of the key research findings contained in the thesis

  • A one page (A4) citation from the PhD supervisor, including confirmation of the date of PhD examination and that the student passed

  • A one page (A4) confidential report from the external examiner of the PhD thesis

Entries (PDF documents preferred) and any queries should be submitted by email, with "IOP CPG Thesis Prize" as the subject header, to Arash Mostofi

A few more details can be found at